oTree Forum >

How to properly keep player information from one round to the next ?

#1 by DonutMan

Hello all,
I'm really new in oTree and I try to develop my very first Prisoner's dilemma application.

I'm stuck with propagating the information stored in player object from one round to the next one.

I have two players (PLAYERS_PER_GROUP = 2) and three rounds (NUM_ROUNDS = 3).

At the first page, I ask their name, age and gender.
On the second page, I ask them to choose if they betray or not
Then I print the result

I do not want that the players to be asked their name/age/gender after the first round, so I added a is_displayed() function for this page with the following return : "return (player.round_number == 1)"

As explained in the oTree documentation (https://otree.readthedocs.io/en/latest/rounds.html#passing-data-between-rounds-or-apps), it is expected that the player objects are not propagated from one round to the other one.

The documentation gives some hints to achieve player propagation but I fail adding this in my code. Where is the best place to add this propagation ?

Here's a small code that I began to develop :

if player.round_number > 1:
            subsession = player.subsession
            subsession_init = subsession.in_round(1)

player_list = subsession_init.get_players()
            participant_list = [p.participant for p in player_list]

participant = player.participant

index = participant_list.index(participant)
            player_init = player_list[index]

player.name = player_init.name
            player.age = player_init.age
            player.gender = player_init.gender

Thanks a lot for any advice ! :)

BR

DonutMan

#2 by DonutMan

In fact, I tried this code in the vars_for_template() function of the second page.

It works a little bit even if I think it is a very very ugly place to store such a redefinition of player's variables (I'm not creating vars for template but rather reload previous state).